The Thank-List

Instead of a greedy wish-list, I’d love to exchange my Christmas joy into a thanksgiving one, and turn it into a thank-list.

Another year have passed me by, when it feels just like yesterday’s the first day of the year. I can still clearly remember how me and my friends spent our last day of 2014 and our first day of 2015 together. It was a hopeful moment, a jolly moment. We shared our wishes, our hopes, our dreams. And so many days have passed. Therefore, instead of getting my time wasted in wishing for more giddy wishes, I’d love to stop for a moment and say out loud all the things that I have received and experienced this years and give thanks for all of them, because they’ve shaped me. They can’t just go away wasted, right. Might as well make them count.

If Santa’s reading this list, please bless the people that’s written here with lots of presents. Because they deserve it!

I am thankful for my family. They’ve never gone anywhere – always there. Good or bad, busy or relaxed, rain or dry. For being the home I have and will always need, I thank the Lord.

 

I am thankful for my college friends. For the casual never ending chats that kept me sober in the midst of uni craziness, til the crazy talks, make-up session and discount countings, for being the sweet icing part on my bittersweet cake of life. How can I possibly spend my days on the uni without you? Thank you for being you guys. You know who you are. Stay H!

 

I am thankful for my sisters from another family. Janet, Prisca, Hilary. Never in my life I imagined having close friends closer than you girls. For sharing the good, the bad, shaming me into admitting my lowest points and still be there for me, for being the source of my strength, for being random and loving, I can’t thank you enough. I am totally teary-eyed by writing this.

People say if a friendship lasts more than eight years, it will stay forever. And since I can’t imagine the rest of my life without you all, so you have no choice but to stay with me, alright!!

 

 

I am thankful for the friends and colleagues I made during my time as a part of the student organization. I have learned so much from you all, you guys have to know that. And for the chance to know you and to work with you all, I truly thank the Lord. I couldn’t have met better lessons elsewhere.

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 2.41.19 AM

I am thankful for my Saturday sisters. We’re supposed to be a dance-team, but what are we if we’re not family? I used to feel so burdened, having the responsibility of being a mentor. But you girls taught me how to get along with it, and in my hardest time, spending time with you all end up being the glue I needed to keep myself together. For the chance to be able to be for all of you, I thank the Lord. Let’s stay working our best for Him!

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 2.38.36 AM

I am thankful for the worship team. For our Friday sessions, for our time spent together, growing in Christ. For being passionate and daring, for being the kind of support I have never imagined, I am truthfully grateful. I can’t imagine serving the Lord without being with you guys as a team.. Thankyou Lord for this family.

 

 

Above all, I thank the Lord for the depression.

If Job had A+ for having faith and still being strong throughout his suffering, then I would have an F, because I didn’t get the same hardships nor faith.

But still, I personally witness, how God’s hand shaped me. How He guided me, even through the roughest patches and the darkest valleys, and showed me how to depend on Him and see the Light.

I’m thankful that I get to learn the love of Christ, deeper and deeper than before. I’m thankful that I get to re-think about everything in life and figure so many things out because of this chance.

I’m thankful that I’m growing because of the hardship.

Even though I was still lacking, still weak and immature, but He stayed, and deep down inside, I heard how He rooted for me. How He kept on getting me up, cleaning the dust off my knees, and asked me to keep on going.

And through those moments, I learned to be stronger and go higher.

I am thankful for the way He showed me that the worst paths are there to guide me to the most beautiful places in life.

I’m not going to say I have won against the depression, but I know I have learned how strong I am in enduring one. I know I have gained the strength through Him. And for that, I am forever grateful.

Bless the Lord, oh my soul.

Leave a Reply

